Friday, September 11, 2015

Virtual Tour: Blurred Lines By Lauren Layne

In a novel that’s perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they’re still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland’s trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker’s boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben’s no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can’t seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker’s ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can’t go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to.
Blurred Lines is about one of my favorite romance themes, friends to lovers.  There is just something about falling for your friend that could go oh so very wrong, or could be the best thing to happen because this person is your friend, they know you, they are already a big part of your life and then you move into the romance side.  Maybe that is a little bit of the fairytale that all people who fall in love want to believe in, that the person who you love will also be your friend.  So I was super excited to start Blurred Lines because of all those things I just mentioned above.  Sadly for me, it didn’t really work for me, I had a hard time staying interested in Ben and Parker’s story.  It just fell flat for me, I just didn’t feel the connection between the two; and Parker was not a favorite character for me at all.  I really wanted to like this one but in the end for me it was just okay.

This is only the second book that I have read by this author and I am still up in the air about if this is one that I want to continue reading or not.  Now please don’t take that as a negative.  Her books are good, but for me they haven’t been “oh my god that was amazing!”, I am not sure if I haven’t clicked well with her style yet or as a reader I just don’t have that connection with her characters.  What hasn’t worked for me personally may work for someone else.  I am not willing to throw in the towel just yet with this author.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lauren Layne is the USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.

Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren's gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.

1 comment:

Tasty Book Tours said...

Thank you for taking the chance on BLURRED LINES!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...